2015 : Melbourne Calling


I think you know me well enough by now to know that I can never sit still. If I start to feel unchallenged, content, comfortable or [insert any adjective which people strive for their whole lives] – I will uproot myself. I’ll push myself out of this comfort zone all while my subconscious snickers, “Try and survive this, Sucker!” It is continually challenging me to try new things, make mistakes, learn from them and grow.

The word leaving, makes me very uncomfortable. Although this is a reoccurring theme in my life, my heart feels a little unsettled every time it hears this word. Words like leaving and goodbyes have negative connotations associated with them which leave me feeling blue. Contrary to this, words such as, arriving, have positive connotations of starting afresh, turning a new leaf and thus provide hope and excitement.

2015 marks the beginning of a new year. It also marks my second year in a graduate chemical engineer role. This role is based in Melbourne, Victoria. I’m relocating interstate! This time last year I had feelings of dread and anxiety all while a cloud of fear loomed over me as my move to Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia drew closer. This year, I’m a completely new person who can’t wait to make the move into a city which I had always hoped to one day reside in.

Your first move is the hardest. It’s leaving the nest (leaving, with all the negative connotations attached to it). It’s abandoning your life to start a brand new one with so many uncertainties. The first move also makes you grow the most. You learn to be independent when you have no support system, you learn to adapt to different environments, you learn to fly! From here it gets easier. From here, every move brings you hope and excitement and an uncertain future filled with endless opportunities.

I’m looking forward to calling Melbourne my new home (temporarily) in early 2015!

192810_10151075537151234_243989003_o

8 responses to “2015 : Melbourne Calling

  1. Wow ! I never knew how by using a different word, like arriving instead of leaving, you can have a positive change ! Keep being positive ! Best wishes for your next stop-Melbourne.

    • Thank you Buji! I didn’t discover this till now. Learning to slowly look at the bright side 🙂 Waiting for you to visit in Melbourne 🙂

  2. How exciting! 🙂 Wanted to stop by and wish you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year filled with joy, love, laughter, peace, good health and more exciting adventures! 🙂 XO, Violet

  3. Anna, it’s me again. How is Melbourne? 🙂 I heard it’s so beautiful and a friend of mine recommended I have to visit it when I’m travelling to Australia next year! Do you highly recommend it too??? Hope all is well with you. 🙂

    • Hi Violet, Ive replied to this on the comment you left on the Bali blog post. If you have any other questions let me know! Im thoroughly enjoying Melbourne – Ive been to so many events already, the cricket world cup, australian. Then did some travels around victoria also but havent found time to write about it all. I hope your planning is going well. Feel free to keep asking me questions if youre ever stuck again 🙂

      • I’m happy you’re enjoying Melbourne! I’ve chatted with a few friends who’ve been to Melbourne and they highly recommend it, and one even told me I need to stay there for at least 2 weeks! Do you agree?? I’m slowly researching and planning, and I’m realizing that Australia is such a HUGE country and it’ll be impossible for me to see the entire country if I also want to see New Zealand, with my limited time, since I also want to rush to Japan after to catch the cherry blossom season. So I wanted to ask you if this is feasible: 3 weeks in New Zealand & 2 weeks in Australia (probably only go to 2 places: Sydney & Melbourne..). Or should I just focus entirely on New Zealand before I fly to Japan, and return to Australia a few months later during its winter season? Do you think travelling in Australia in winter is okay..what’s the weather like?? So many questions to ask you..hope to hear from you soon! And hope you blog about Victoria soon. 🙂 Thanks so much!! XO, Violet

Leave a comment!

