Life Lessons From Children


I was once a part of this youth group for many years called St Johns and it really taught me so much. I have so many memories from it – my first crush, my first competition, my first camp with new people. Now, I give time every week to go back and be a leader for this youth group, getting to teach and mould 6-9 years old with important life skills.  If you don’t know me here’ s a little fun fact – I absolutely adore kids/babies/children/whatever-you-want-to-call-them! To add to this I’ve always had a knack for teaching, perhaps it’s because I am so bossy and a control freak or perhaps it’s that I love the satisfaction of teaching someone something new! Whatever it may be spending these few hours with my bunch of energetic children is very rewarding.

The other week I was having a conversation with a 7 year old, a tubby little fellow and I don’t know how we came upon the subject of weight, I think I was telling a group of them how eating is my hobby. He said:

” I don’t know how much I weigh! Every time I go on the weighing scale it keeps changing!”

I could not believe he had just said that sentence out loud and in a manner which was so matter-of-fact. Surely, if it was an adult they would’ve never been so honest about it or say it in that tone. It was his innocence, he was oblivous to the harsh judgemental world, he was in his own little happy bubble and it made me smile. Oh to be a kid again!

A lot of the times its always us adults confining children to all these rules and regulations to which they must adhere to but once in a while it’s interesting to look at life from a child’s perspective – one learns so much! Here are a few things they’ve taught me thus far :

1. Live for the now

 “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

If you have been in the company of a child for even a few hours you would have noticed their incredible ability to forget something that had happened just one hour ago. Their feelings are almost always based upon events as they happen. Let me relate this to one of my kids at youth. This blonde haired, blue-eyed, chubby cheeks and misichieveous smile wearing kid was easily the happiest child I had ever met. He would always tease me, hug me and laugh with me, up until last week. He was crying! Why? He had forgotten his uniform jacket at home so one of the leaders gave him a jacket that the ‘older’ kids wear to keep him warm. He was bawling his eyes out because he thought everyone would mock him! Half an hour later, he was laughing with me again while we were making our very own newspapers. As soon as children get distracted they move on – they no longer hold on to their negative emotions. They live in the present.

Wouldn’t it be great, even if it is just for a day to try and not hold onto anger after the event had past. I am an expert at accumulating all the anger and pain inside of me and then letting it go at either someone but mostly my pillow which has soaked so many tears. It makes it hard to be happy when you’re stuck in the past. Let’s change. Yeah! It’s a scary word but it’s for the better!

2. The sky is the limit

We get seduced by our own mantras (I’m a failure…I’m lonely…) and we become monuments to them. 

Remember when you were a kid and you wanted to be something ridiculous as a profession. I wanted to be an actress, I wanted to be a teacher, I wanted to live in London. Their future is limitless – so why can’t we think like this? ” I wish I had done this! I wish I had done that!”  Go do them! Don’t be a hostage to life, it is never too late. You don’t want to be sitting there on your death bed and thinking, ” I wish I had done this” – because then, then it would be too late! So maybe never wasn’t the right word to use…

3. Love Love Love

“I hope she’ll be a fool — that’s the best thing a girl can be in this world, a beautiful little fool.”

Children appreciate what they have, they adore every single person that comes in their lives and they shower them with love. They don’t intend to hurt and they believe no one would want to hurt them! With no such ill intent and worries it is so easy to love and appreciate every relationship you have in your life.

We have to learn and appreciate the mixed pot we have and love each other for it. Appreciate what you have before it becomes what you had. 

Leave a comment!

