One Strike and You’re Out!


“You’re dead to me”

I am one of those people who will never give you a second chance. Like Ever. This is honestly really annoying because if I made a mistake I would want a second chance. Instead I do the whole I-forgive-you-but-I-dont’-really-and-I’ll-always-remember-what-happened-and-still-be-nice-to-your-face. Anyone else in the same boat? I certainly hope so, otherwise I would be one evil person.

So what do you have to do to get the you’re dead to me look from me?

  • Talk about me to someone and I catch you in the act
  • Make a comment about someone very close to me
  • Be so casually cruel in the name of being honest
  • Like someone I hate
  • Have that high-pitched oooooooo how are you fake annoying voice *bat eyelashes*
  • Possess shitty English – I’m a grammar nazi and people who can’t string a sentence together even when English is their first language annoys me so much! There is a difference between you’re and your and it’s not hard!
  • Post every second of your life on Facebook, “I am now in the toilet” – no one’s ever said that but I wouldn’t be surprised.

I know some of these are ridiculous – no one can control how their voice sounds, I know, I know – my brain understands this but my heart doesn’t. It’s a true dilemma. I want to change. I really do and I am going to try.

The only real failure is the failure to try. And the measure of success is how we cope with disappointment, as we always must. We came here and we tried. Can we be blamed that we are too old to change? Too scared of disappointment to start all over again? We get up in the morning we do our best. Nothing else matters. But it’s also true that the person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing. All we know about the future is that it’ll be different. Perhaps what we fear is that it’ll be the same. So we must celebrate the changes!

I have nothing to lose and a lot to gain, like:

  •  A new outlook on life
  • A positive attitude
  • Perhaps more friends
  • Good values

How do I go about this change? Suggestions? I am thinking the usual stop and think trick which never actually works. It’s like my mind is accustomed to this routine of instantly crossing people out of my life as soon as they make that one wrong move. I guess this goes hand in hand with my judgemental nature. The first step is admittance, and I’ve reached that – I am happy to say what I am and no arguments about that. But, where to from here? I am liking this list thing I’ve going on here so let’s make another one!

  • Learn to accept that there are different kinds of people out there and if people are tolerating my nature without punching me in the face then they must be nice!
  • The Golden Rule
  • Re: Like someone I hate – why do I hate that person, if it’s because of something I heard in the gossip world, LET IT GO.
  • People are good at different things; I am hopeless at Cricket, Rugby, Netball, Basketball and most sports except probably Tennis and Hockey. Perhaps those lacking important English skills have other areas they excel in? And I need to accept that. If people laughed at me when I tried to play Rugby, I would feel terrible. ( Although I don’t how good this would actually work because English is a life skill, Sports probably isn’t. Maybe there is a better example out there that I have to find.)
  • I’ve actually found a solution for the Facebook problem, it’s called unsubscribe and its genius! This is more of a preventative measure rather than killing the problem at it’s roots, but it works!

Now I really want to get over the high pitch issue because it really isn’t their fault and I’ve actually worked on this for a while now. But I just can’t do it. I can’t think of a way of getting over it. For things like back stabbing and acts of b****iness, I don’t think I’ll change my one strike and you’re out rule. Some things you just have to take a stand on!

Here’s to trying to change!

4 responses to “One Strike and You’re Out!

  1. Interesting post. After reading all the things that can evoke the “you’re dead to me” look I think it’s a little over the top. You really do need to learn to let things go and if you can’t let them go (that’s fine too) but learn to “bite your tongue” – keep it on the inside and don’t let others see it. This also helps to build a strength in you which comes in handy in many situations.
    We all have our faults – no one’s perfect – but regardless, “don’t be a hater”. If you are going to pass judgement and hate, make sure it’s for real, legit reasons. Life’s too short to be shooting “you’re dead to me” looks. And in regards to disliking people who like the people you hate – if you can learn to love your enemy you’re doing better than 80% of the population. 🙂

    • I completely agree with you which is why I decided to make a change for good. In regards to biting my tongue, I never actually give any signs to the people about the you’re dead to me look. It’s more of a thing I do on the inside. Should probably add that to the post. Never the less, I still need to change because even if the people who get these looks aren’t aware it’s just not good for me personally. I need to not be a hater like you said, my mother keeps telling me it’ll make me bitter haha. So here’s to change in 2013! Thanks for your suggestions they’ll definitely be taken on board 🙂

Leave a comment!

